The functions of the Federal Senate are exercised by senators of the Republic, who are elected according to the majority vote to represent the states and the Federal District. Each state and the Federal District elect three senators for a term of eight years. The renewal of representation occurs every four years, alternately, by one and two thirds. Each senator is elected with two substitutes.

Get to know the senators of the Republic

Get to know the senators who make up the Steering Committee of the Federal Senate